Eight Presidents Named To Landmark Conference Academic Honor Roll

WASHINGTON, Pa. -- The Landmark Conference released its 2012 Spring Academic Honor Roll on Wednesday and eight Washington & Jefferson College men’s lacrosse players were among the honorees. 

W&J completed its inaugural season in the Landmark Conference as a men’s lacrosse affiliate this spring.  The Presidents had competed as an independent NCAA Division III program since the sport was introduced at the college in 2002. 

The 310 overall honor roll members were selected from all eight Landmark Conference institutions as well as affiliate members.  The Landmark Conference Academic Honor Roll recognizes all spring student-athletes of sophomore standing or older with a cumulative grade point average of 3.2 or higher. The student-athletes must complete the spring season in good standing with their team.

Washington & Jefferson’s award winners were highlighted by two members of the 2012 graduating class, attacker Mark Ringeling (Pittsburgh, Pa./North Hills) and goalie Matt Landfried (Batavia, N.Y./Batavia).  Ringeling closed his career as the fourth-leading goal scorer in program history with 84. 

A trio of junior midfielders, Dylan Haas (Damascus, Md./Poolesville), Tucker Mizhir (Winchendon, Mass./St. Mark's) and Tom Kozlowski (Pittsburgh, Pa./Shaler), were also honored for their academic work.  Sophomores Quinn Marker (Dayton, Ohio/Archbishop Alter), David Behringer (Severna Park, Md./Severna Park) and Casey Smallwood (Gibsonia, Pa./Pine-Richland) rounded out the Presidents’ honor roll selections. 

Washington & Jefferson begins its 2013 season in Greenville, Pa., on Feb. 23 when it travels to Thiel for a 1:00 pm match.