Four Promising Sophomores Recognized with Annual Award

WASHINGTON, Pa. (Dec. 4, 2012)—Four Washington & Jefferson College students were named recipients today of the 2012 Rule, Hughes, Murphy Prize, given annually to a group of sophomores in recognition of their academic achievement, academic promise and leadership potential.

This year’s honorees are Valerie Dunlap of Hostetter, Pa.; Lauren Horning of Bellefonte, Pa.; Casey Ortega of Pickerington, Ohio; and Genevieve Van Voorhis of Pittsford, N.Y.

“The Rule, Hughes, Murphy Prize is really the most prestigious award at W&J for sophomores,” W&J President Tori Haring-Smith, Ph.D., said. “It looks at all aspects—academic, citizenship, leadership—including good moral character, which is tied very much into the College. I congratulate these students in what they have accomplished.”

An undecided major, Dunlap is a member of the women’s basketball team, the Pre-Law Society, Student Athlete Advisory Council, Alpha Lambda Delta and the Newman Club. She is an orientation leader, transfer student mentor and Alpha Scholar. 

Horning is a resident assistant for the Green House and a member of the Sustainability Committee, Green Club, Alpha Lambda Delta and Spanish Club. She is a J-Walker and student ambassador as well as an Alpha Scholar. She is a Spanish and environmental studies major.

A Magellan Scholar and Spanish major, Ortega is a resident assistant, active in intramurals and Introduction to Leadership Retreat, and she’s a member of the Red & Black newspaper staff and Spanish Club.

An English and communication arts major, Van Voorhis is a member of the Camerata Singers and Alpha Lambda Delta. She is a Matthew Brown Music Scholar and Beta Scholar, involved with WNJR radio, and vice president of programming for Delta Gamma sorority.

The prize is named in honor of three W&J alumni: James Rule, Howard Hughes and Robert Murphy. It includes a $2,000 cash prize.

For more information about W&J, visit, or call 888-926-3529.


From left, Genevieve Van Voorhis; Lauren Horning; President Haring-Smith; Casey Ortega; Valerie Dunlap