Sigma Delta Pi, the National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society (La Sociedad Nacional Honoraria Hispánica), was established on November 14, 1919, at the University of California in Berkeley. Its insignia is the royal seal of Fernando and Isabel, representing Castille, León, and Aragón. The Society's colors are red and gold and its flower is the red carnation.

With the guidance of such notable Hispanists as S. Griswold Morley, Elijah C. Hills, Rudolph Schevill, Leavitt O. Wright, William Berrien, John D. Fitz-Gerald, Tomás Navarro Tomás, José Martel, Archer M. Huntington, John T. Reid, Stuart M. Gross, James O. Swain, F. Dewey Amner, Carl A. Tyre, T. Earle Hamilton, Dolores Brown, Richard E. Chandler, Ignacio R.M. Galbis, John H. LaPrade, and Germán D. Carrillo, the Society has expanded its activities and now has over 500 chapters. Almost all state universities have chapters, and the few that do not are now considering the founding of one.

In order to serve its many chapters most efficiently, the Society has a National President, an Executive Secretary-Treasurer, and five Regional Vice Presidents. All but the Executive Secretary-Treasurer are nominated and elected by the active chapter members. The Society is governed by an Executive Council consisting of the seven aforementioned officials, the Immediate Past President, and the Presidents Emeriti. The sponsor of the chapter, preferably chosen by the student members, but sometimes appointed by the department head, is of the utmost importance, for his/her wisdom, imagination and dedication largely determine the success of the local branch of the Society.

Visit for more information.

Gamma Mu Chapter

The Gamma Mu chapter serves to honor Washington & Jefferson College's outstanding students of Spanish for their adventurous spirit and academic excellence in this exciting and culturally stimulating field. This group is designed to unite the past and present members of the society in hopes of creating a network of students interested in Hispanic language and culture. We strive to further our passion and increase interest on campus of Spanish-related events and cultural activities. We honor the Greek phrase “Spanías Didagéi Proágomen” and go forth under the Spanish language to continue to promote excellence in future professionals and to recognize the outstanding contributions made to the Spanish Department. This organization endeavors to maintain a high degree of professional fellowship among its members, deepen the love of Hispanic culture, and honor achievement in Spanish studies.

The Purposes of Society are:

  1. To honor those who attain excellence in the study of the Spanish language and in the study of the literature and culture of the Spanish-speaking peoples;
  2. To honor those who have made the Hispanic contributions to modern culture better known in the English-speaking world;
  3. To encourage college and university students to acquire a greater interest in and a deeper understanding of Hispanic culture;
  4. To foster friendly relations and mutual respect between the nations of Hispanic speech and those of English speech;
  5. To serve its membership in ways which will contribute to the attainment  of the goals and ideals of the society.

Membership requirements for our chapter:

  • 3.3 average in all Spanish courses at the College
  • 3.2 overall GPA
  • three years of study of college-level Spanish or the equivalent thereof, including at least one course in Hispanic literature or Hispanic culture and civilization at 400-level.

April 27th, 2021, Sigma Delta Pi new inductees:

Nick Bartel, Nick, Belofsky, Marilyn Burkhardt, Emily Figliolia, Kylie Griswold, Madison Gutierrez, Katie Hanh, Noah Hoffman, Lindsey Koziel, Izzie Kratz, Mckenna Lewis, Isabella Manzari, Cat Martin, Haley Nelson, Luke Puskarich, Kimber Randolph, Hannah Robart, Christian Rohrer, Yesica Rodriguez, Star Rosnick, Samantha Sonnet, Silvio Urani, and Joel Winters (not pictured).

Faculty Advisor: Christy Shaughnessy