Fall 2017 Sports Roundup

Created: December 23, 2017  |  Last Updated: September 1, 2020  |  Category: ,   |  Tagged: ,


Hanna Kuhlkamp ’20 won a Fifth Singles title at the Presidents’ Athletic Conference (PAC) Championships, giving W&J a singles champion for a third-straight year.


Jordan Toohey ’18 set a new program record for most career goals (66), which propelled her to the All-PAC and All-Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) First teams in addition to being named an All-Great Lakes Region Second Team. Tatiana Ruzzini ’18 became the fifth player in program history to surpass 100 career points, concluding her W&J career with 117 points.


Kaitlyn Vogel ’18 was selected to attend the NCAA Student-Athlete Leadership Forum in Washington, D.C., Nov. 16-19, 2017. On the course, she earned medalist honors at the Presidents’ Athletic Conference Fall Championships for the second year in a row, holding a six-stroke lead heading into the 18-hole Spring Championships.


The W&J women’s cross country team finished a season-best third place out of nine teams at the W&J Invitational Sept. 29, 2017.


The Presidents clinched their second Empire 8 Conference Championship in program history and the first since 2011.

Karlie Baran ’18 was named to the All-E8 and All-ECAC First Teams as well as the All-North Atlantic Region Second Team as the W&J goalkeeper.

Rachel Buyan ’19 was selected to the All-E8, All-ECAC, and All-North Atlantic Region First Teams.

Head Coach Jo Coghlan earned the Empire 8 Coach/Staff of the Year Award for the third time in her career (2007, 2010).


Four Presidents were named to All-Presidents’ Athletic Conference teams, led by Madison Lydic ’19 on the First Team; Makenzie Coughlin ’20 and Abbey Eich ’19 garnered Second Team recognition from the conference while Mallory O’Brien ’20 earned an Honorable Mention.

The 2017 season marked the fourth straight year that the Presidents appeared in the PAC Tournament.


Jason Yobbi ’18 was named an Eastern College Athletic Conference All-Star and earned All-Great Lakes Region Second Team and All-Presidents’ Athletic Conference First Team accolades.

The Presidents finished with an 11-7 overall record, the most wins since 2010 (12). They also tied the longest single season winning streak since 2010 at seven wins.


Nikola Malezanov completed his first year as the head coach of the men’s water polo team after previously serving as the women’s head coach.

Tyler Francis ’21 was named to the College Water Polo Association Division III Eastern Championship All-Tournament team.


Harley Moyer ’19 finished first individually at the Presidents’ Athletic Conference Fall Championships, followed by a fourth-place effort at the 2017 NCAA Mideast Regionals, the highest finish by an individual in program history at the event and best by a PAC runner since 1987. Moyer missed All-America honors at the NCAA National Championships by one place and 0.29 seconds.


Daniel Velasco ’20 tied for medalist honors at the Presidents’ Athletic Conference Fall Championships with a score of 150 (six-over par). Velasco led the Presidents to a team victory at the Peter C. Rossin Memorial Invitational Oct. 9, 2017, firing a two-day score of 149 to pace the field.

Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.

Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.

Sorry, we couldn't find any posts. Please try a different search.